Archive | 9:24 pm

$10 gift certificate for Dakota Organic Beef

7 Jul

logo Free $10 Dakota Beef Certificate

 

Take this very short survey and receive a  Free $10 gift certificate for Dakota BeefGO HERE to find a store that carries their products.

Free Rouge Magazine subscription (contains lots of P&G coupons)

7 Jul

rouge magazine canada 300x210 Free Rouge Magazine Subscription = P&G Coupons

Click here for a Free subscription to Rouge Magazine . This comes out 4 times a year!

Here are the examples of the coupons from the Spring issue…

  • $1.00/1 Natural Instincts product
  • $1.00/1 Crest rinse (458 ml+)
  • $0.75/1 Crest 3D White toothpaste (4 oz+)
  • $1.00/1 Covergirl Product
  • $1.00/1 Always pads
  • $1.00/1 Crest rinse (458 ml+)
  • $2.00/1 Venus disposables
  • $0.75/1 Oral–B Pulsar, CrossAction, Advantage or (2) Indicator or Cavity Defense
  • $1.00/1 Nice ‘n Easy product
  • $10.00/1 Crest 3D White 2 Hour Express Whitestrips
  • Buy any Venus ProSkin Breeze or Spa Breeze refill, get a FREE Venus ProSkin Breeze or Spa Breeze razor (up to $11.99)

Fiber One facebook giveaway

7 Jul

bkg F1 Brownies Splash Free Fiber One Brownies and Free Fiber One Cereal

Fiber One will be giving away FREE Box of their 90 Calorie Brownies and FREE Boxes of their 80 Calorie Fiber One Cereal every day for the next 6 days on their Facebook page at random times to the first 90 people who register for each of the giveaways! These are separate offers. Make sure to ‘like’ their page so you will know when they go live. This will happen each day through July 11!

THIS FRIDAY ONLY 7/8 ORGANIC CHERRIES $2.99 @ WHOLE FOODS!

7 Jul

 

WHOLE FOODS is having a one day sale on organic cherries this Friday ONLY ! They will be $2.99 per pound. This is a $4 per pound savings! Hurry in because when they do these sales,  the product goes quickly!!

ANTIFREEZE IN SALAD DRESSING! NO THANK YOU!

7 Jul

ABC’s show, The Dr’s, drives me crazy, but for some reason it is always on at my house. Usually I will watch bits and pieces of GMA, Regis and Kelly, and The View, as I make breakfast, get dressed, clean the kitchen, do laundry blah blah blah. I guess by the time my day really gets going, I  move on, and forget to turn off the t.v. Back in May I happened to catch a disturbing episode of The Doctors that evaluated what is really in our food. It has taken me this long to find the info, but I pulled this tidbit from a blog I follow called Healthy Life Deals.  Please read her thoughts and look at the link!

“Did you see “The Doctors” Friday, May 6th?  It is so shocking the things that are allowed in our food. Now I would NEVER put antifreeze on my salad. So why would they put propylene glycol in salad dressing??? Propylene Glycol is found in antifreeze, plane de-icer, enamels and varnishes.  Yah I really don’t think it should be in my food.  The FDA says the level salad dressing contain are safe but NO I don’t even want to risk that one.  How about you??   Check your food ingredients I found it listed in some I had in my fridge. Now they are in the trash! 

Did you know that when carbohydate-foods are cooked at very high temperature a cancer causeing compound called Acrylamide forms.  Acrylamide is also found in cigarette smoke.  You will find this in your potato chips and french fries.  Doctors believe that 30% of cancers are caused by dietary sources. “
Read more about what to watch for in your food here.

Tonight’s Supper- Salad a la Mama Goose

7 Jul

I know that a lot of times salad can seem boring (cue the Debbie Downer music)….Wah Wah Wah . 

Well, not the kind of salads that I make!!  They key is to add delicious foods that complement one another. I am sure that most of you have heard that  salads actually  have a tendency to be fattening. If you are dumping loads of ranch dressing, cheese and bacon bits on it, then yes they can be. Isn’t there a book out now that has a title like, Skinny Girls Don’t Eat Salad (or something like that)?

Here are a few tips to learning to love the ensaladas-

Dressings– 1.Make your own! A nice olive oil based dressing with lemon zest, salt, chives and honey is healthy and delish!
2.Use salsa as a dressing! I really like to use mango peach salsa as a salad dressing! It had virtually no calories, a great flavor, and keeps your salad from being too dry!
3.Measure 2 tablespoons (one servings size) of dressing before you pour over your salad. This saves on calories and allows the flavors of your veggies to come through.

Lettuce- 1. Buy fresh organic lettuce from your local farmer’s market. You will be able to tell a difference!
2. If you are used to a certain type of lettuce, switch it up! I love using baby spinach( great source of iron and vitamin K) and topping it with Salmon and strawberries.

Veggies- 1. Bring on the peppers! Learn what flavors and spice you like, and pile them on!
2. Grow your own! Jarrod and I love having a garden, and it is so rewarding to be able to pick your own veggies and eat them for dinner!

Cheese-  1. Don’t over do it!
2. Grate fresh part skim mozzarella, shave fresh Parmesan, or crumble fresh goat cheese for a creamy flavor!

Meats/ Protein –

  1. I usually add chopped  hardboiled egg whites (only 15 cals each). They are filling and have a great texture.
  2. 2 Grilled fish works nicely on a salad. It sounds like a lot of work, but if Jarrod isn’t up for grilling, I just throw the fish on my Geroge Foreman Grill ( this makes                       me laugh and think of Michael Scott)
  3. Chicken- grilled, baked, or rotisserie!

Fruits (all of my faves)-

 

  1. Blueberries
  2.  avocado
  3.  Blackberries
  4.  Cherries
  5.  Watermelon
  6. Dried Cranberries
  7. Strawberries

Nuts- (preferably toasted or candied)

  1. Walnuts
  2. Almonds
  3. Pecans

Tonight’s salad (all organic)– mixed greens, hardboiled eggs, a small amount of reduced fat part skim mozzarella cheese, toasted pecans, fresh vanilla bell peppers,green bell peppers, and tomatoes( all 3 from my sister in law’s garden), banana peppers and jalapeno (from our garden), blackberries (from our CSA box), my homemade guacamole, dried cranberries, and red onion. Since I was running around all day, we used a small amount of Whole Foods 365 Sesame Garlic Dressing, and I shredded the Herb Crusted Rotisserie chicken on top.

Learn about Recyclebank coupons!

7 Jul

Recyclebank coupons are awesome! You do have to put in a little effort to earn the coupons, but it is actually very easy, enjoyable and informative! Not to mention rewarding! I pulled this from their website:

 

“Whether you pledge to use less energy, increase your at-home recycling or even just learn how you can increase the green in your home and neighborhood, we’ll reward you through grocery store savings, drugstore coupons, and discounts on the brands you buy every day. This way, you reap the rewards of not only brightening your community and helping your environment, but also truly benefit from meaningful savings.”

Click here to read their ABOUT US page.

Click here to sign up and start earning points.

Click here to look at the rewards.

 

ENJOY!!

 

 

My Kroger Trip

7 Jul

I really don’t care for  Kroger, but let’s face it, it is right next door to Target, and I practically live at Target. I usually only go to Kroger when I notice that they have a good deal. I ran in to the store today for just a few minutes while my sister sat in the car with my babies. I went in for only three things, but I did notice that there were LOTS of yellow tags on items in the healthy/natural foods section. I don’t remember prices, but I know I saw some Nature’s path, Cascadian Farms,  and Kashi  items on sale. I may go back to check it out, BUT Kroger doesn’t take competitors’ coupons which sometimes can ruin what could be a great deal! (Just another reason I love Publix.) Anyway, here it is:

I spent- $13.52

I saved- $11.16 (thats 48%!)

 

(4) All Natural Gluten Free Boulder Potato Chips Bags- on sale for $2.00 a bag. I used (2) $1/2 coupons making them only= $ 1.50 per bag

(1) Kashi Frozen Pizza- on sale for $5.99. I used (1) $2/1 Kashi product Recyclebank coupon making the price total only= $3.99

(2) Kashi Cereals- on sale for $2.99 a box. I used (2) $2/1 Kashi product Recyclebank coupons making the price only= $.99 per box!