{experiencing Joy} and my week in review…

9 Jun

It’s amazing to me the joy our Heavenly Father provides in every circumstance.

I just wanted to share with y’all that the past two weeks have been really emotionally draining for me. There are a few, very dear, people in my life who are currently facing unimaginable circumstances. On the other hand, I have a couple close friends who are currently experiencing some of the most joyful experiences life can offer.  I feel that the Lord has given me a spiritual gift of empathy, and when people, especially my friends, are hurting, I can feel their emotions. I can empathize in a way that just seems to linger in my heart. ( I think this is one of the reasons I have a heart for orphans.)

The same goes for the happy times too.

We are not only told to FIND JOY in all circumstances, but BE THANKFUL in all circumstances.

This week, my children were so hard to discipline. The newness of summer has worn off, and the “oldness” of mommy has set in. As a lot of you know, my husband is usually gone for a large chunk of the week, and by Wednesday night, I had reached the breaking point. With everything going on, I found myself losing my joy.

Just a day with Hoke… (not her worst work)

When Jarrod returned home  Thursday, he was received by a weepy, exhausted, and frustrated wife.

This week I appreciated his homecoming even more than I normally do, just finding comfort in my husband’s presence.

(He, after seeing me, probably wanted to turn right around and run back out of town!)

All 3 of the Boyd girls are thankful he’s home! (If you can see, we’re all mauling him)

I’m thankful to know the power of Jesus. Everyone has hard days. Everyone has hard weeks. It’s in Him that we find our peace, our joy.

I just started a Beth Moore study of James, and on the first night of the study she said, ” The power of the resurrection means that nothing but the tomb is meant to be empty.”

I’ve let the comfort of those words wash over me since hearing them.

My go to verse this week was Romans 5: 3-5….

“More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”

With all that being said…

This week was Hen Hen’s ballet camp at church, and our garage sale! Look at all our going-ons🙂

Ballet Camping

Day 1 of ballet camp

Garage Sale-ing

Hoke and Bear

Trying to keep the two terrorists entertained…

Can’t put a price on that cutie!! (Wilson)

All I think when I see this is “baby Moses” hahaha

Trying to give my most welcoming smile…  I look a little like the garage sale creeper…

Told y’all it was gonna be a party… cornhole🙂

Leave a Reply

