How to work a deal. WAGS and Kroger.

6 Jun

My kids are driving me bananas. My husband works out of town. My house is a wreck. There are 9,000 other things I need to be doing, but if I don’t spend a few minutes locked in my office blogging, then I may lose my mind. Does anyone else know the feeling?!?!

I promise I will do my coupon class part 5 later tonight, but for right now, here are my latest savings…

This week, at these two stores I spent $47.83 and saved $94.84!!!

Kroger

As most of y’all know, I no longer have a thyroid and my life literally depends on my synthroid. Therefore I LOVE LOVE LOVE those coupons that say “transfer your prescription to our store and we’ll give you a $25 gift card.”  Y’all, it is so easy to transfer a RX. I would transfer it every month if I had the coupons for it!  Even if you don’t take medicine on a regular basis, you should clip these! (or give them to me🙂 Yesterday I had my synthroid filled at Kroger and they put $25 worth of free groceries on my  rewards card. Here are the groceries I got for FREE. (I didn’t even use coupons!! I just bought items on sale)

5 boxes of Annies macaroni

2 boxes of Cascadian Farms Cereal

2 bags of Pirates’ Booty

2 Endangered Species Organic Dark Choclocate Bars

1 bunch of bananas

1 Organic Avacado

Walgreens

I have said it before, but I really usually hate the drug store deals. I feel like it’s easy to overspend or to have to buy additional items just to use your rewards dollars. But today I got great deals!!

Today at Walgreens I spent $47.83 and saved $69.84 (60% savings!!)

The following items were what I went in to buy…

Deal Scenario:

Buy:

Gillette Venus ProSkin Razor – $11.99 (buy 1)
Gillette Venus 4 ct box of Cartridges – $14.99 (buy 1)
CoverGirl Single Eye Shadows – $3.99 BOGO 50% off (buy 2)
Olay Foaming Face Wash – $4.39 (buy 1)

Subtotal: $37.36
Use Free Venus RAZOR wyb refill purchase coupon from the P&G 6-3
Use (2) of the $1/1 CoverGirl Product coupon from the P&G 6-3
Use $1.00/1 Olay Facial Cleanser or Facial Moisturizer coupon from the P&G 6-3
Pay $19.96 – Get $8, $5 & $3 Register Rewards
=$6.37 for all 5 items or just $1.27 each!

HOWEVER– I added more items that I thought were a good deal too!  I did 2 transactions..

Transaction 1: I bought all of the items listed in the scenario above PLUS

  • (2) Burts Bees gift packs.- Originally $12.99 each. On sale for $6.49 each.

I’ve a friend who is having a baby tomorrow and a friend who’s in the hospital. I thought these would be cute little “happys” for them.

  • Burts Bees face Scrub- $8.29. I had a coupon for $3/1. The total on this was $5.29.

**If you spend $20 on Burts Bees products you get a coupon for $5 Register Rewards the items above qualified me for this. (Basically I got the face scrub free)

**I had $21 of Register Rewards print from this transaction. Register Rewards are coupons to be used on your next transaction.

On this transaction I saved 34.09

Transaction 2:

Gillete Shave gel- $3.49 ( I used $.55/1 coupon) making it $2.94

Aquaphor to go- on sale for $1.79

Yes to Carrots Cream Cleanser- Originally $8.49 on sale for $3.99

Tom’s Deodorant- $5.49 on sale for $2.99

Tom’s Deodorant- $5.49 on sale for $3.99

Witchhazel- On sale for $2.99

I used $18 of Rewards cash making my subtotal only $.69! With tax my total was $2.47.

On this transaction I saved $35.75

Leave a Reply

