Sometimes the simplest changes can make the biggest difference!

27 May

My parents moved to a new house about 6 weeks ago, and  after an estate sale, an estimated 50 Craiglists sales, and a few sales on facebook, my mom finally let me pick 2 or 3 things that she would let me have if I helped them move. I know, right?!

This wrought iron table and chairs has been in my family for years and years. My grandparents used it as their first breakfast room table after they got married. Now, thanks to my parents, it lives at my house!

About a year ago Jarrod and I did a total over-haul on our patio and turned it into a screened porch with beaded board ceilings, two fans, a bar area with a mini fridge, and a flatscreen tv. There’s an area off to the side where the grill is that isn’t screened in, and has always been one of those places that I can’t quite figure out what to do with.

Problem solved. The table and the 4 chairs now reside in that very spot.

The set needed a fresh coat of paint, and the seat bottoms definitely needed to be recovered. Jarrod did the painting and I did the recovering. It took 2 cans of spray paint at about $3.49 a can. The fabric was $20/yard, and I bought a yard and a half. However, the fabric was 50% off for Memorial Day weekend. So The fabric ended costing only $14.99!  This whole project cost me only $21.97 + tax. I think it’s a great makeover for that price!

 

BTW. If you don’t have it already, download the free JoAnn’s app for iphone. You can “save coupons to your wallet” and the store clerk will accept the coupons from your phone. Had the fabric not been on sale I still could have gotten it for 50% off with my coupons.

 

Here are the before and afters…

Before:

During:

After:

As you can see in the photo above our exterior laundry room/office door was a cream color. This afternoon Jarrod painted it red in a high gloss finish. Here’s how it looks tonight…

One Response to “Sometimes the simplest changes can make the biggest difference!”

  1. Curly Miri May 27, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

    Love the blue and white on the chairs, gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

