Only the 2 best sandwiches you’ve ever eaten… {recipe for Cranberry Walnut Bread}

7 Mar

One of my favorite lunch spots is Bread & Co. Their Iroquois sandwich is made of chicken salad, lettuce and tomato, and is served on cranberry walnut bread. I always ask to have avocado in place of the tomato, I bathe the sandwich in black pepper, and I have a fruit tea to wash it down. The kettle chips and pickle spear are a nice touch too!

WELL let me just tell you that my Bread and Co. dining experience will never be the same. I’m not trying to brag, but my chicken salad, and my guacamole are just as good or better than anyone else’s that I have ever tried. After seeking out the recipe for this cranberry walnut bread, I literally made the best two sandwiches I have ever eaten in my entire life.

First, I cooked a whole chicken…

(By the way Natalie Arieux, thanks again for the roasting pan. I think about you every time I use it!)

Next I made my bread…

Cranberry Walnut Bread Recipe:

(recipe came from HERE)

The chart below came from the site that I pulled the recipe from. Everything with a star beside it means that I changed the ingredient to either All Natural or Organic. The prices listed are for non-organic items, therefore my cost was a little different.

INGREDIENTS COST
1 cup *ORGANIC whole wheat flour (Whole Foods 365) $0.16
2.25 cups * ORGANIC bread flour ( Whole Foods 365) $0.33
1.25 tsp * KOSHER salt $0.05
.75 Tbsp yeast $0.20
1/4 cup *ORGANIC chopped walnuts $0.42
1/4 cup *ORGANIC dried cranberries ( I like Whole Foods 365) $0.30
1.25 cups water $0.00
2 Tbsp * ORGANIC cornmeal $0.03
TOTAL $1.49

STEP 1: In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients (flours, salt, yeast, cranberries and walnuts. Cornmeal not included). Add the water and stir until a shaggy ball forms.

STEP 2: Let the dough rise at room temperature with a loose cover for two hours. After two hours turn the dough out onto a floured surface and give it 3 or four  kneads, just enough to make a  smooth ball. Cut in two, or leave as one large piece of dough. Shape into a round ball.

STEP 3: Place the shaped dough onto a baking sheet covered with parchment paper and sprinkled with cornmeal. Let rise for at least one hour or until double in size. At the end of the rise, preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

(pretend like there is a pic here)

STEP 4: Using a sharp knife or a serrated bread knife, gently make a few slits across the top of the dough.

Brush or spritz the dough with water. * I forgot to do this step the first time I made it!** and bake for about 30 minutes or until the crust is a deep golden brown.

Remove from the oven and cool on a wire rack.

 AHEM…SO BACK TO THE SANDWICHES…

Recap:

Cook Chicken

Make Bread

SANDWICH #1, yet to be named:

Make chicken salad and guacamole (no I don’t share these recipes…yet… money talks)

Slice your freshly made bread, top with chicken salad, guacamole…and the kicker… fresh jalapenos.

SANDWICH #2, yet to be named:

Slice bread and toast in a toaster oven with a slice of Applegate farms white American cheese.

Top with the Herb Roasted chicken pictured above. Add Jarrod’s Famous Homemade White Sauce. It’s actually just the homemade version of Big Bob Gibson’s white sauce… don’t tell him I told. Cover in jalapenos.

TO DIE FOR.

2 Responses to “Only the 2 best sandwiches you’ve ever eaten… {recipe for Cranberry Walnut Bread}”

  1. whilehewasout March 8, 2012 at 5:23 am #

    That loaf looks great!! And I really like the walnut/cranberry combination, sounds interesting!

  2. emorie March 14, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    james, i am so intimidated by cooking whole chickens….you need to do a tutorial for people like me.

Leave a Reply

