{Shopping this week…} Big Savings!

15 Feb

**I’m starting a new segment on my blog called “Shopping this week. ” I hope y’all enjoy!**

Jarrod and I are on the Dave Ramsey financial peace program, and it FEELS. SO. GOOD.  I love carrying my little envelopes of cash with me, because the physical act of handing cash to a cashier is so much harder for me that mindlessly swiping my card. Every item I purchase is totally scrutinized before it makes it into my buggy. For me, carrying cash makes my money much more valuable because once it’s gone, it’s gone.

Even though I’ve been a couponer for a while, this plan has brought my shopping perspective to a whole new level. I usually do most of my weekly shopping while my girls are in school on Wednesdays, therefore our “grocery week” begins on Wednesday and ends on Tuesday.  This week I’m not going to give an entire run down of my purchases, BUT I am going to hit the highlights so you can snag these too.

I’ve also planned all of our suppers from now through next WED, so I’ll be posting pictures and recipes as the week goes on.

This week’s meals are…

  • Blackened Salmon Soft Tacos
  • Cheesy Polenta and Mushroom Pizza
  • Spinach and Artichoke Baked Pasta
  • Balsamic- Ginger Chicken Lettuce Cups
(I usually only plan 4-5 meals for 7 nights because we’ll have leftovers a couple of nights)

Today’s shopping:

Target

Call me a nerd, but I get the biggest thrill out of shopping the clearance section at Target. I stroll up the the end cap with my huge couponing binder, and I matchup as many deals as I can! I only buy products that I need or that I can get for free to {donate}. Be careful not to buy items that you don’t really need! I snagged these same deals last week, and went back today to get more… the best part is…they were discounted EVEN MORE!

  • 3 bags of All Natural Ricola 30ct. cough drops. Originally $1.96 per bag. On clearance for $0.84 per bag. I bought 3 bags and used (3) $0.75/1 coupons. Making these only $0.09 per bag!!
  • Method Smarty dish dishwashing tabs 20ct. Originally $4.99 per bag. On clearance for $2.48 per bag. I bought 1 bag and used (1) $1/1 coupon. Making this only $1.48!

  • Listerine (large bottle). Originally $4.99. On clearance for $2.48. I bought one bottle and used (1) $1/1 coupon. Making this only $1.48!
  • Bounce dryer bar– Originally $4.27. I used (1) $1.50/1mc. The total price was $2.77. * This wasn’t on sale but I needed it and had a $1.50 off coupon. The bounce dryer bar lasts 2 months, so that’s a total of only $1.38 per month!

I spent: $6.00!

I saved: $ 20.13! (that’s 77%!!)

Publix

As always, I used my $5 off a $30 purchase coupon that Publix mails me each week. I mainly bought fruit, veggies, cheese, organic milk blah blah blah. There’s little room for coupons when buying produce, but I always stick with All Natural, Organic, and search for the best deals on those.

My best deals today were:

 Finish Powerball Tabs: originally $6.99 each. This week they are on BOGO. Making them $6.99 for two. I saw one of those automatic coupon machines spitting out coupons right under the display. I grabbed (2) $1/1 coupons. Making them $4.99 for 2 OR $2.49 each!! That’s a savings of $8.99!

Lipton tea bags(100 count): originally $3.69 each. This week they are on BOGO. Making them $3.69 for two. I used (2) $0.50/1 coupons. Publix doubles any mc that is $0.50 or less. Therefore this took off $1 per box. This made each box only $0.84!! That’s a savings of $5.69!

On these deals I spent: $6.67!

I saved: $14.48! (that’s 69%)

Whole Foods

Case of Think Thin Crunch Bars {THIS DEAL IS ONGOING THRU 3/31}

There is a pdf coupon for $1/1 Think Thin Bars.

You can download the coupon here and print it as many times as you would like until it expires on 3/31.

Deal Scenario:

Whole Foods has their Think Thin bars on sale for $1.49 per bar. If you buy a case (that’s 10 bars) you get a 10% case discount.

Case price: $14.90

Case price with 10% discount: 13.41

Use (10) $1/1 coupons which saves you $10.00

Total price $3.41 for a case! OR $0.34 per bar!

That’s an $11.49 savings or 78%!

One Response to “{Shopping this week…} Big Savings!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. {Shopping this week} 2/22 *happy b-day Emorie* « Mama Goose Cuttin' Loose - February 22, 2012

    […] Jalapeno Peppers- $2.29/lb- $0.73 KROGER  My kids LOVE macaroni and cheese. 1 box  used as a side dish will usually last 2 meals for my girls. This week our  organic mac and cheese is $1 a box at Kroger. I didn’t have any Annie’s coupons, but it was still worth running in the store to pick up a few boxes! Annie’s Organic Mac and Cheese (several varieties) only  $1 with card. WHOLE FOODS Although I didnt make it into WF today, DON’T MISS the THINK THIN deal I talked about last week [here] […]

Leave a Reply

