Semi-Home Made Frozen Waffles

7 Jan

Another change in 2012? Making our own frozen waffles!  We used to buy Whole Foods 365 Organic Blueberry Mini Waffles. Each box contains 8 waffles, the babies each eat 2 a morning, so one box only lasts 4 days. We buy two boxes a week @ about $2.50 per box. Thats $20 a month, $240 a year….on frozen waffles. 

Yesterday I got a deal at Whole Foods on Arrowhead Mills waffle mix. They currently have their mixes on sale for $3.99. I used (1) $1/1 printable coupon and (1) $1/1 Whole Foods coupon. I was able to get 2 bags for only $1.99 each. I won’t always be able to get such great deals on organic mixes so, I’m going to start research on recipes for homemade waffles.

When I got home (in the middle of all the {bread making}) I made about 22 waffles from one only one bag of mix!

The  semi home made waffles are double the size of the 365 waffles, so each child will only eat one per meal. This one bag of mix made about 11 breakfasts for my babies at only $.09 each!  If my children ate waffles everyday this year it would only cost us $65.70. That’s a savings of $174.30!

This quickly turned into a family affair, and Henley and Hoke ended up eating waffles for lunch.

Hoke wanted in on the action too! (still in p.j’s)

I waited on the waffles to cool and stuck them in gallon sized freezer bags with a piece of wax paper between each one.

This turned out to be a super easy and fun project to do with the kiddos, and since I did it while the dough was rising on our homemade bread, it was a great use of time!

One Response to “Semi-Home Made Frozen Waffles”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. MG’s coupon class Part 1 « Mama Goose Cuttin' Loose - May 29, 2012

    […] Also, after I learned to coupon, I really saw where our money was going. In this post here and this post here I tell about two areas where we were spending a lot of money each month. It became so frustrating […]

Leave a Reply

