Supper Last Night… Pork Chops with Apples & Onions, and Sweet Potato Fries

19 Oct

Of all the meals I make, this is Jarrod’s fave!! It is quick and easy too!!

I always vary the recipe, so here is a rough draft…

The original recipe calls for 2 bone in pork chops but last night I made 3 1 inch thick boneless pork chops…

Pork Chops:

Heat 1-2 tbsp of olive oil in cast iron skillet (turn the pan to cover the entire bottom)

Season chops with salt and pepper ( I used kosher salt and coarse pepper) on both sides.

Cook over medium high heat for about 5 mins on the first side (time varies based on how thick the chops are)

Flip the chops over, loosely cover skillet with a foil tent, and allow to cook through (another 3-4 mins).

Remove from heat and cover with foil to keep warm.

Apples and Onions:

The amount I cooks always varies depending on my mood, but last night I used 1 large white onions and 2 small gala apples.

Thinly slice the apples and onions.

In the same skillet you just cooked the pork in, add another tablespoon of olive oil and turn the pan again.

Over medium high heat cook the onions and apples for about 7-10 mins or until really tender.

I sprinkle with kosher salt, coarse black pepper, thyme, and lemon juice. (the original recipe I use has certain measurements, but I just eyeball it)

Remove from heat and put on top of the pork chops… DELISH!!

Sweet potato recipe to follow!!

Leave a Reply

