Pesticides in commercially grown produce and their link with ADHD

30 Aug

My sweet little family eats either organic, locally grown, or all natural foods when eating at home, or whenever we can help it. We most definately HAVE NOT always been this way, but having my babies has totally changed the way I look at food. God literally gave these children to me as a gift. As it says  in James 1:17- “Every good and perfect gift is from above…”  He has put me in charge of two little lives. They can’t make decisions about what they put in their bodies and what sustains them. Just as I will do my due diligence and take them to the doctor when they are sick, console them when they cry,  and teach them about Jesus, I also am the one who when feed them when they are hungry.

One day while not even looking for it, I stumbled upon, (or was pushed onto) some information about DISGUSTING things that are allowed by the FDA to be put into our food. I actually wasn’t so disturbed by the fact that I had been eating this food, but I was shocked that I had been giving certain foods to my babies that had crazy ingredients in them like PETROLIUM. Pertrolium?! that’s not even a food! Then at a women’s Bible study at church, we had a speaker come and tell us about her child who was severely allergic to pretty much every food there is under the sun. She is now a food expert and offered tons of insight on even more ridiculous things that are in our foods that the general public has no knowledge of, and even worse it has the approval of the FDA.

There it was, this woman had ruined things for me. Now that I was given this knowledge, there was no way that I could continue to feed my children certain foods that I KNEW caused cancer, ADHD, Eczema, and all other types of illnesses.   At first I was overwhelmed and felt like it was too expensive, too hard, and kind of high maintenance, but I started a little at a time, and now  it is just our lifestyle. I have had several people say to me, “Well it hasn’t hurt me so far.” or ” I have NEVER eaten anything organic and I am just fine.” The truth is this is a lifestyle. The foods that you ingest DO affect you whether it be now or in 10 years from now. Also, food additives that are allowed in our foods such as my post on aluminum as a filler in baking powder, have not always been in your food. Companies keep finding ways to drive the costs down on their products, and our food is worse for us now than it was in the 60’s, 70’s, 80’s etc…

I ran across this article in the paper this weekend, and I wanted to share it with you. I really apologize for how lame I am by taking pictures of the article and posting.

Leave a Reply

