Tonight’s Supper- Eggplant Parmesan

15 Aug

Jarrod and I just wrapped up a delicious dinner, if I do say so myself!! This week we received eggplants in our CSA box, so I decided to try something new. This was my first time making eggplant parmesan, and it was a WONDERFUL experience! 

This makes A LOT of food! Jarrod said he can’s wait to make an eggplant parm sandwich tomorrow!

 

Not the prettiest picture, but a delicious dinner! 1- Eggplant parm 2- side salad 3- toast with ricotta, honey and thyme

How to make this dish:

I followed a recipe…kind of. I made several changes based on my own preferences, and the reviews of other people who tried this recipe. Let me know if you make it!

Ingredients-

3 eggplants (I used 2), peeled and thinly sliced

2 eggs, beaten (I used 4)

4 cups Italian bread crumbs (I used wheat bread crumbs and stirred in oregano, garlic powder, black pepper, and onion powder)

6 cups of spaghetti sauce ( I just eyeballed it, and used 365 organic pasta basil pasta sauce)

16 oz of mozzarella cheese ( I bought 2 blocks and hand grated)

1/2 cup of grated Parmesan cheese ( I didn’t measure, but I used more than 1/2 cup) ** fresh grated always tastes better!!

1/2 teaspoon of dried basil ( I used fresh from my garden and eyeballed the amount)

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

2. Dip the eggplant slices in the egg, and then in the bread crumbs. Place in a single layer on a baking sheet. Bake in the preheated oven fro 5 minutes on each side.

3. In a 9×13 inch baking dish spread the spaghetti sauce to cover the bottom. Place a layer of eggplant slices in the sauce.  (as pictured below)

                                                                        Sprinkle with mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses. Repeat with the remaining ingredients, ending with the cheeses. Sprinkle basil on top. (as pictured below)

4. Bake in the oven at 350 for 35 minutes ( I baked for 45 minutes because one of the reviews I read was from a women who baked this for her Italian mother-in-law, and the woman said her mother-in-law loved the dish, but mentioned that it would have been perfect if cooked for only 10 minutes longer)

Final product!

Leave a Reply

