My Walgreens Trip

1 Aug

I really don’t like posting too many drugstore deals because I feel like they can be a trap for unsuspecting buyers. You really have to be wise in your decisions at these stores. Sometimes the “FREE” items trick you into spending money that you don’t need/want to spend in the first place. The drugstore prints a Register Reward coupon (or and ECB) on these “FREE” items so you have to buy something else either at a later date or transaction to reap the benefit of the “FREE” offer.

***Only 1 register reward will print per transaction, so if you buy 2 participating items, you will have to buy them separately in order to receive double the rewards. Also, you can’t use a reward that was just printed on a second transaction where you buy the same Rewards item that you bought in transaction #1 Confusing much?! I have the store policies here if you need better clarification.

***I ONLY participate in drugstores’ free items if there is something else I NEED at the store for that week. This week I needed Clorox Cleaner with Bleach, and I also needed nail polish remover. By completing the following scenario, I was able to purchase the items I needed AND get two free lotions.

For example:

 My trip from 7/31

 

transaction 1:

Keri lotion originally $8.99 on sale for $6.99. I used a $2/1 coupon making the item $4.99. The register printed a $5 Register Rewards coupon at checkout that can be used on a subsequent transaction. Essentially this item was FREE. My out of pocket expense for this transaction was $5.64

 

transaction 2:

Keri lotion originally $8.99 on sale for $6.99. I used a $2/1 coupon making the item $4.99. The register printed a $5 Register Rewards coupon at checkout that can be used on a subsequent transaction. Essentially this item was FREE. My out of pocket expense for this transaction was $5.64

 

transaction 3:

(2) Clorox Cleanup products @ $4.79 each and 1 nailpolish remover @ $1.79. The total was $12.42. I used BOTH of my $5 register rewards coupons on this transaction making my out of pocket expense on this transaction $2.42.

**your subtotal (before tax) MUST cost more than you Register Rewards’ value. AND your Register Rewards coupons count as a manufacturers’ coupon, so you can’t use another coupon towards that item if you are using your RR on that item**

 

My total cost @ Walgreens was $13.70 and I bought 2 lotions, 2 Clorox Cleanups, and 1 bottle of nailpolish remover. I spent the same amount as I would have had I just bought the items I needed, but by working the deals I also received $18 worth of lotion FREE

 

Don’t fall into the trap where you buy the FREE item and then do a separate transaction where you buy items that you don’t really want or need just so you can use the coupon. It defeats the purpose of saving!

 

Leave a Reply

