MG’s Coupon Class Part 3&4

31 May

Now that you have your binder, and your coupons, it’s time to learn how to work a deal!

There’s going to be a lot of  defining in this section, so just bear with me! It’s very important to understand coupon lingo. I’ll Start with Matchups. Weekly Matchups are when a person takes the sales for a particular store and matches their coupons to that sale to maximize a deal.

MATCHUPS

First things first… Where can I find matchups?

Let me just say that my favorite place to find weekly matchups is Faithful Provisions. There’s also IheartPublixTotallyTargetSouthernSavers, MyCouponTeacher etc. etc. It really is limitless. All the matchups are the same, the sites you use really just depend on your preference.

Kroger and Target’s ads being each Sunday.

Publix ads being on Wednesday.

Every store varies. Matchups are usually posted on these websites a day or two before the actual ad starts. That way you can prepare ahead of time!

So, Tell me how to read matchups…

When you start looking at the weekly matchups you will see things that look something like this:

Cheerios Big Box- $4.99 on sale BOGO. use (2)  $1.50/1 SS (4/7). Final Price $0.99 each wyb 2

Okay, here is where a lot of the lingo comes in…

BOGO means buy on get one free. This is telling you to use two $1.50 off coupons that can be found in the Smart Source insert from 4/7. Your final price is $0.99 each when you buy 2.

Don’t get discouraged just yet!!  Remember…learning to coupon is a process!!

Terms you will frequently see are:

RP – RedPlum insert (Sunday paper); weekly

P&G – Proctor & Gamble insert (Sunday paper); monthly

GM – General Mills insert (Sunday paper); random

WYB (wyb)– When You Buy

PSA (psa)– Prices Start At

Blinkie – Red box that dispenses coupons; attached to a shelf

Catalina – Coupons that print at the register and are given with the receipt (These are mfg coupons and usually can be used at ANY store.)

IP – Internet printable coupons

Rolling – Roll your money over to the next transaction

Stacking - Using a manufacturer coupon with a store coupon

IVC - Instant Value Coupon (Walgreens store coupon found in monthly booklet)

RR –Register Rewards (Walgreens “cash” type of coupon) – use on future transaction within expiration period

ECB –Extra Care Bucks (CVS rebate tenders)

SCR - Single Check Rebates (RiteAid’s monthly rebate program)

In-Ad Coupons – Walgreens weekly ad coupons

OOP – Out of Pocket

YMMV – Your Mileage May Vary. It will depend on the store/cashier/manager to see if that particular deal/scenario will work.

Fillers - Items you add to your purchase to get your total up.  Usually to be able to use a $x off $xx coupon.

Overages - Potential profit after using a coupon with a sale item

BOGOF / B1G1F - Buy One Get One Free, usually stores allow you to purchase one at 50% off.

$1/1 or $1/2 – $1 off 1 item, or $1 off 2 items

Each week before I go to the store, I check matchups to see what I can get for a great price. Sometimes there are matchups I can make on my own from clearance items or unadvertised sales. That’s why I always take my coupon binder with me! You never know when you’ll need it!

Store Info

Every store has their own coupon policies… Here is the info I know off the top of my head.

1) If your Target store is just a regular Target (not a Super Target), then they will take 1 Target coupon and 1 manufacturer’s coupon per item. They WILL NOT accept competitors coupons. They will not accept expired coupons.

2) Publix allows 1 store coupon and 1 manufacturer’s coupon per item. They WILL accept competitors coupons. They won’t accept expired coupons. If the closest Target to the store is a Super Target, then they’ll accept Target coupons.

3) Kroger allows 1 Kroger coupon and 1 manufacturer’s coupon per item. They will not accept competitors coupons. For every $100 you spend at Kroger (using your rewards card) you will earn 10 cents off per gallon of fuel at either Kroger or Shell.

4) Whole Foods allows one Whole Foods coupon and one manufacturer’s coupon per item. They do not accept competitors  coupons. If you are buying multiple items, but only have one store coupon for that item, they will allow you to use that one coupon on each item. For example- If you are buying 5 cereal bars and you have 1 Whole Foods store coupon for 1 cereal bar. They will allow you to apply it to all 5 cereal bars if you ask. This is because WF allows unlimited prints on their coupons, and they want to save paper.

5) Costco only accepts Costco coupons

For a complete list of stores coupon policies, you can find them here. I suggest printing them out and having them with you at the store. That way if one of the cashiers is confused on what the policy is, you can have it right there with you.

Matchup Tips:

Prices may vary from store to store, so once I have reviewed my matchups and decided what I want to buy, here’s how I  make my  list:

1) I write down the name of the item.

2) Next to its name I write down the items’ price/sale price. This way if an item was supposed to be $2.50 but it’s priced at $4. I may not buy it if I can’t get the good deal.

3) I write down the coupons that match that deal. So my list may look like:  Advil- $3.99 (1) $.50 Target coupon (1) $1.00 manufacturer’s coupon.

4) Then I grab those coupons out of my binder, or print them if I need to.

5) I put my coupons in my reusable envelope so I can know they are together and ready to hand the cashier.

6) Next to the item on my list, I write down what my final price would be. So in this case it is $2.49

Then I repeat for the next item.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

